What Happens To Your Data After You're Dead?
This is the question that many people ask.
Who owns your data on Geneanet?
You own your Geneanet data.
Each Geneanet data is linked to a single account and every member can delete their data at any time (family tree, pictures, archival records, etc.)
Geneanet don't keep your data and personal information after you have deleted your account.
Geneanet will never sell your data and will never share it with third parties.
And what happens to your data after you're dead?
If Geneanet is notified about the death of a member, their account and their data are immediately deleted.
But the the family of the dead can ask Geneanet not to delete the account. If so, data will still be available to Geneanet visitors but newsletters will not be send anymore to the given email address. This is a good way to memorialise the genealogy research of a loved one.
Please read the 'Geneanet First Steps' pages to learn more about GeneanetFirst Steps
To ask for help on any topic related to the Geneanet website, to report a bug and to make a suggestion, please go to our forum.Forum
Questions not related to blog notes will not be answered here. Many thanks for your comprehension.